Feedback

This is me, speaking directly to the people who read this blog. I am writing this because it is largely easier for me to communicate in writing than it is verbally. But I am also writing this blog to get feedback. Most of these topics are things I could easily discuss in the groups I’m in, but I choose to put a lot of them here because of the extra feedback I can get from people outside the groups here in the step-down. 

But there’s been a severe paucity of feedback regarding this blog. I’ve had people contact me privately, which is fine; there are some people who want to keep their anonymity, even though there is no restriction on using an assumed name or pseudonym in the comments section. But Part of getting feedback is the back-and-forth, which doesn’t happen with private feedback. I admit that I haven’t been very active in responding to the comments, and I apologize for that; I’ll try to do better.

What I’m saying, though, is that unless I get some feedback – and I would prefer it to be here, rather than private comments outside – that there is no real reason to continue this blog. I’m laying everything inside my head out here, but it feels kinda futile when nobody has anything to say about it. I don’t care if you’re a friend, stranger, therapist, or amateur; I want to hear other people’s thoughts on what I’m saying. I want to be called out on things if it sounds like I am full of crap, and I want advice if you have any to give.

Otherwise I’m just a voice in the wilderness, apparently talking to nobody, and I don’t see a point to that.

10 comments on “Feedback

  1. Leeman says:

    I read a fair amount of these, although I will admit not every single one. I find it to be a very fascinating look not only into your personal story but also in contrast with my own experienced in the mental health field.

    My work has placed me in contact with this field in two different ones. One is as a standardized patient where I simulate different medical scenarios for students. I’ve had to simulate anxiety, schizophreniform, psychotic episodes, and even schizophrenia and in training, they highlight the subjective reality of these roles and do their best to keep us from forming judgments or “playing up” the crazy.

    My other area of interaction was teaching theatre for several years at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health here in Toronto. Working with kids who are living with a variety of conditions also taught me about the breadth of diversity and the challenge of making assumptions.

    All combined, I think the stigma around mental health is the greatest challenge to overcome. I think that people’s discomfort with it makes them unnecessarily cruel and also treat it like some toxic miasma which could get on them if they get too close so having a blog like this where you are able to share the very humanizing story you have to tell is a remarkable thing and I hope you’re able to find the time and motivation to keep at it.

    Writing is not my strong suit and I tend to run out of steam on these projects or get distracted and forget to come back to it. I’ve been very impressed with your schedule of writing and I hope you are able to maintain it.

    • I had no idea you had had such experience in the mental health field, Leeman. I’ve learned something new already. The stigma is one of the big problems; the Menninger Clinic has its own blog entitled ‘Say No To Stigma’ largely to combat the prevailing views on mental health.

      Time, when it comes to writing this blog, isn’t a huge factor, though motivation might be, because, as I note in this post, I want to have some degree of back-and-forth communication. On that note, thanks for responding; you may have been the first person to read my blog, and I am grateful you’ve continued. No, the thing that will probably stall me as concerns the blog is running out of material, and knowing the inside of my head, that could be quite some time.

  2. Renee says:

    I’m reading at least some of them, Jamie. I have found them interesting especially when thinking about my own struggles with extreme homesickness that was probably borderline depression though undiagnosed, and post partum depression. Sorry I don’t say much, but you are being heard.

    • Hey, Renee! Long time no speak. I do try to write in an entertaining fashion, so I am glad you’ve found what you have read interesting. I don’t mean to guilt-trip you into responding, though; I’m just frustrated at the lack of communication at times, because I see a fair bit of traffic on the blog, but relatively little in the way of comments. A silent readership is better than no readership, though.

  3. Alicia says:

    You’re right while I have been reading every single one. I have not very often written comments on here. Sadly I’m still very introverted and shy no matter how far I’ve come since high school for the most part I am guilty as charged as far as giving most of my responses to you in private. I know you’d rather have them here but I’m for the most part not comfortable with that so if it’s okay with you I will still just mention things to you in emails and over skype. Sorry.

    • I understand about not feeling comfortable; it took, and still takes, a lot for me to post all this out in the open. If you don’t feel you can comment here, then feel free to talk tome about it in private.

  4. Leeman says:

    Creating content is a funny business and the rate at which one feels one is actually being taken is a weird feeling. When I first started both Ask Lovecraft and Geekually Yoked, I found that was I so hungry for the feeling that someone, ANYONE was paying attention. Then as my audience built up, I found that I wanted it to keep on growing and found my goal markers continually shifting. Whereas at first, I felt honoured that a dozen people were watching, now I feel disappointed if only a hundred or so do so there’s always a feeling that you can do better. Keep writing and disseminating as best as you can and people will gravitate towards it. These things just take time and while they do, it’s an absolute bitch.

  5. Eric M. says:

    I’ve been reading most of the blogs and enjoy them. Part of it is that I have always had a lot of respect for you. And your blogs are very readable, many blogs are certainly not that. There has been much mental illness in my family, as well as health problems. Both are things I’ve come to terms with in my own way, and watch as my family members used different strategies than I would have chosen. Some seem to work, others not so much in the present moment, but you never know. I am fascinated by the pernicious forces of modern culture that destroy community and our own personal well-being and power. I hope that we can heal ourselves, somehow.

    • I’m sorry you and your family have had to go through that, Eric. It’s hard to deal with those things yourself, let alone watch people lose to you deal with them. Treatment seems tone kind of a mixed bag, and different treatments work, or don’t, for different people and mental issues. It would be nice if we could nail that down somehow.

Leave a Reply

