Gratitude Challenge, Day 3

Once more, it is time for an update on the gratitude challenge, especially since I don’t have a whole lot else to talk about at the moment – other than an exercise in groups that ended up making me think very negatively, which was a little distressing. I’m naturally a pretty cynical and negative person, so I try to avoid things that exacerbate that tendency.

So anyway, on the gratitude front. I am grateful for my therapist here at the step-down program, for one thing. He’s been a great help to me, being available to talk to me when I needed help. He’s one of the few people around here I can talk to about just about anything, because he isn’t as involved in the often dramatic life of the community here as we, the clients, are. This has been very helpful recently. Also, he has been very good at figuring out what is going on with my parents and I, and trying to help with my current job-search situation.

I’m grateful for my friends, both the ones here and the ones elsewhere. They have provided a lot of help and support over my months here in Texas, and only a few of them have made fun of me for choosing to live someplace so hot and for not owning a cowboy hat yet. You know who you are. You have talked me through a lot of things, and provided a lot of good input when I have asked for it, no matter how hard it has been to hear. I don’t think I would have come as far as I have without you.

Finally, I am grateful to my parents. While all of us have made our fair share of mistakes, you have been supportive of my decision to come to Menninger, then in my choice to stay at the step-down, and finally with my decision to stay and live in Houston and find a job, and new life, for myself here. You have accepted that I am moving on with my life, and have been receptive in treatment and in family calls – though all of us have had our bad moments. But your support has been there since the start, and I am grateful for it.

As for a positive experience over the last 24 hours, I guess I can use seeing my roommate off in groups today, though it is really more of a bittersweet moment. Like I said yesterday, I liked him as a roommate, and he was a good guy who put up with me and my odd behavior, but he also felt like he was ready to leave and move on with his life. He is going on to a new part of his life that will hopefully work out for the better, and he is doing so with a lot more support and knowledge than he had before.So while it was tough seeing him go, it was good to know that he is going on to a better place in life.

Exercise for today was a little light, just walking around, because I am oddly sore in places I don’t remember using and thought I should take it a little easier today. Meditating was easy since we did it in one of our groups, but I thought that might be cheating, so I did it again later. I’m still having timing troubles, but as long as I don’t fall asleep doing it, I call it a win.

As for writing an e-mail to a friend who I am grateful to, I did that very early this morning – really, it was more last night than this morning. It was partly because of this, and partly because I was worried about her and how she has been feeling. Hopefully it will help, even if it is just a little bit.

Anyway, that’s it for day 3, so tune in tomorrow for day 4, and possibly something on another topic!

One comment on “Gratitude Challenge, Day 3

  1. Alicia says:

    You are doing better in meditation than I did when I had the class in school. I fell asleep so often I started to think of that class as sleeping for credits….

Leave a Reply

