Gratitude Challenge, Day 7

Lest anyone think I have forgotten, I shall also make an entry for the gratitude challenge progress for the day.

First, I am grateful for my shower, because it both wakes me up in the morning and helps to relax my muscles after a workout. I can turn it to whatever temperature feels comfortable without worrying too much, I have plenty of room, and I can take my time (well, not too much in the morning, but I’m not a long shower kind of guy anyway). It gets me going in the day, something I am frequently very reluctant about before I get in the shower, and that’s always good.

Second, I am grateful for group psychotherapy. I have found it to be one of the groups, at Menninger, the step-down, and DBSA, that has been the most helpful to me. It doesn’t teach me any skills, but it does help me feel like I am in a group of people I can trust and be trusted by, because there are a lot of secrets and emotional vulnerability that come out in group. Being vulnerable with other people has always been tough for me, and learning how to do it, even in a controlled setting, has been a giant step for me.

Third, I am grateful for books. As much as I like reading books on my Kindle app, there’s really nothing like the feel of a good book in your hands, the smell of the pages, the way the paper feels in your hands, the need to get tot he next page and find out what is happening. E-books may be more convenient, but they’ll never replace a real book for me, which is why, like this article says, there will always be a place for great bookstores.

As far as a positive experience for me in the last 24 hours, I think I’ll go with something recent and say the dinner a group of us went to at a Tex-Mex place called Chuy’s, followed by going to see the new movie The Wolverine. The movie was decent, but the thing I enjoyed most about both dinner and the movie was the company. I wish we could get a group that big to go out and do more things, but I know that is tough so I take what I can get. It was a chance to sit, eat, and talk casually with a bunch of people I don’t often see outside of a group therapy setting, and that was nice. 

As for exercise, I spent 45 minutes riding on an exercise bike today, going a bit over 10 miles; I’m feeling it now, because I think I pulled or strained something in the back of my left leg, but it’ll pass. I just have to go a little easier. As for meditation, I knocked that out between groups this morning, giving me about 20 minutes’ worth, which was cool.

Finally, I didn’t send out any e-mails today, but I did send out a couple of birthday messages to some people I haven’t spoken to a lot recently, as well as to someone here int he community. I figure that’s probably close enough, because most people like having their birthdays acknowledged and to know that other people care enough to do so.

In any case, I am all typed out, so until next time…

Leave a Reply

