Gratitude Challenge, Day 13

Well, even considering my post before, I am continuing with the gratitude challenge, and as such, I bring you my entry for today.

First, I am grateful for people who are willing to tell their story. We have a group here called Narrative Therapy, once a week. In it, one person in the program tells their story – whether that is their entire life story, or just about the events that led them into treatment. I think it is a great group because it helps to let the rest of the people here to understand the speaker; I know when I did it, I felt more connected to the community. It isn’t mandatory, so not everyone does it, but I salute those who do; it takes a lot to share that much.

I am grateful for bacon. I know, I know, it is terrible for me, but it just tastes so good! I don’t listen to the vegetarians, and the pescetarians, and the vegans when it comes to bacon – I want my bacon, dangit. Bacon makes everything better. I don’t know why that is – probably because, being so bad for me, it therefore must taste so good, much like things that are good for me must taste bad. 

Finally, I am grateful for a good night’s sleep. With the workout schedule I have been keeping lately, the value of a full night of sleep has become very clear; if I don’t get enough, I wake up in the mornings feeling like I haven’t slept at all. So the ability to get the right kind and amount of sleep is something I appreciate a great deal.

As for a positive experience in the last 24 hours, I had a good meeting with my therapist today; we talked about a lot of things, from the friend I have feelings for to my parents to how I am feeling about my imminent departure from the program. I look forward to meeting with my therapist just about every week, because he’s a pretty cool guy and has a lot of really good insight. I’ll be sorry to leave because I don’t think I can stick with him as a therapist – though I haven’t really looked into it – though he does run, or co-run, a support group for Menninger alumni. 

For exercise today, I was back in the pool again, since I alternate between the pool and exercise bike. I don’t know what it’s doing for me, but I hope it’s doing some good. I got a chance to do a little meditation today while I was waiting for my rounds to occur, so that got knocked out – which was good, because I haven’t calmed down enough since rounds to relax and meditate.

As for a message to someone I am grateful to, I just sent one to a friend who I shamefully haven’t been a very good friend to. I’d like to work on that, even if I won’t be here all that much longer, I am grateful to have been able to know her, and I just want her to know that.

That’s it for today; we’ll see what tomorrow brings. and hope it’s a bit less panic attack-y.

Leave a Reply

