Gratitude Challenge, Day 14

Well, the challenge is 2/3 of the way to being done. And today was a busy day; I talked with my parents about getting a job, my living situation, and moving into an apartment; I talked tot he leasing office about finding an apartment; I’ve been looking for furniture to furnish my apartment; and I’ve been writing this. I actually had to write this twice, because the first time around it didn’t save itself, so here I am rewriting it. But like I said, it has been a busy day for me, and I’m trying to get things over with, so without further ado, here is my gratitude journal for the day.

First, I am grateful for the RAs here at the step-down. They do a lot of things around here – they talk to us when we’re feeling lousy, they keep track of us and check in on us to make sure we’re OK, they drive us around to all of our appointments, and they do it all while having to deal with mental patients, who can be a surly bunch. It’s not a job that gets a lot of thanks, though I try to make sure to thank them when I can, but I just wanted to say that I am grateful for all that they do here, and I hope they keep up the good work.

Secondly, I am grateful to the woman at the leasing office today. I have never rented or leased an apartment before, and it was kind of an intimidating process for me, but she made it all seem easy; she was friendly, helpful, took me around to several apartments to look at even in the ridiculous Houston summer heat, and helped me through all the basic paperwork in what was probably, for me, record time. It was a process that could have been much more painful, but went very smoothly, and I am grateful for that.

Finally, I am grateful for online shopping. It sounds shallow, but with me looking into furniture, checking things out online makes it much easier to know what to look for when I do go out to the shops than if I was just going without having done any research. I had several friends to help me with this process, and even my sister, and I think we’ve put together a pretty decent list, but it would have been much harder without looking it all up online.

For a positive situation from the last 24 hours, I will go with lunch today. It was a chance for a couple of people here at the step-down to get together with some local friends – all of whom were at Menninger with me – and check in with each other and see how things are going. It isn’t something we have had a lot of chances to do, and since one of us will be leaving us in two weeks, we only have a limited amount of time left; we’ll try to make the most of it.

For exercise today, I got mine in hiking around to the various apartments I was checking out. It may not sound like work, but in Houston heat, once I was done I felt like I had showered in my clothes, and I had no interest in working up even more of a sweat going down to the gym. I got a number of chances for meditation today, though, and I took them when I could – I am still trying to calm down from yesterday’s panic attack, and every little bit helps.

As for a message to someone I am grateful to, I sent one to the friend I mentioned above who will be leaving the program shortly. He’s been a good friend and a reliable presence ever since Menninger, and I, and many others, will be sorry to see him go while also wishing him the best on his trip home.

I’m going to get going now; there is talk of rock-climbing tomorrow, and I think I will try to check that out. It’s a new experience, but after the terror of contemplating speed dating, I think I have rock climbing covered. We’ll see, right?

Leave a Reply

