Gratitude Challenge, Day 16

Well, here I am on this day of rest, though I don’t feel terribly rested – mainly because of the soreness I feel from my fingers to my shoulders. It’s been a busy day for me, so I think I’ll just try to knock this out quick so I can get on with my night.

I am grateful for the geek scene in Houston. While I didn’t get a chance to go to Space City Con because it was sold out, I did get to go out to some other cool and relatively geeky places, and the geek community in Houston seems to be a lot more active than the one in St. Louis. I mean hell, I got my parents to go with me to Comic-palooza when they came to visit, which is something I don’t think even comes near St. Louis. 

I am grateful for all the people here who have been willing to help me out with my impending move. Like I have mentioned before, this is a pretty intimidating process for me, but the fact that so many people here have proven willing to help me out with various aspects of my move has made me feel like I belong here. These are people who, for the most part, are my friends, but others who have simply chosen to volunteer their experience and help because they are good people. It is nice to be cared for that much.

Finally, I am grateful for 1/4 Price Books, a bookstore here in Houston. I got a chance to go over there today, and while it could use a little more in the realm of AC, it had a very interesting selection of books. Some of the books I found there I don’t think I’ve ever heard of, much less seen, but they had a lot of books on a lot of topics that you’d never find in a Barnes & Noble, and the guy who runs the store really knows his stuff. It was a very cool place to check out.

As for a positive experience from the last day, I got to spend time with a pretty cool guy while out and about in Houston. We went out to a comics & games store, and to the aforementioned bookstore, and when we weren’t actively involved in looking around shops for things to amuse ourselves or to purchase, we had some pretty interesting conversations, about the city, people we know, dating, and general fashion sense (which I don’t have, but I can kind of fake it occasionally). Even though we had originally planned to go to Space City Con, he didn’t seem particularly fazed by our inability to do so, and I think he really sells himself short.

For exercise today, even though my arms were sore, I hopped in the pool and spent a fair amount of time there. It was a good time, even though there were storm clouds almost literally overhead. And while I was drying off from my swim, I had time to sit, relax, and meditate, so that was basically two birds with one stone.

I sent an e-mail to some friends who are a couple just a little bit ago; I have been so focused on people I am grateful to around here, from Menninger and the step-down program, that I almost forgot that they should have been high on my list. They’re great people, and I owe them a lot.

Well, that’s my gratitude platitude (ha, I rhymed) for the day, so unless I have any stunning internal revelations or fascinating ideas in the next hour or two, I will likely be back again tomorrow for my daily dose of dorkiness (yeah, that was a reach).

Leave a Reply

