Gratitude Challenge, Day 18

Well, after a day to rest up and re-examine things, I am feeling much better. It is often amazing what a difference a days makes, 24 little hours… wait, I’m not sure I want to be quoting song lyrics from before my birth. In any case, things are going relatively smoothly now, so I am feeling up for resuming this challenge at its precious level of involvement. So I guess I better get down to business, then.

Today, I think the first thing I am grateful for is finishing up my apartment paperwork. I got that knocked out today, and that made my day a little brighter; I’m not sure exactly why, but it cleared up some questions and it was relatively easy to do, so I am not going to look that particular gift horse in the mouth. 

Next, I am grateful for the input given to me by both my mother and my sister yesterday and today. While most people didn’t read my original entry for yesterday, it was not terribly well thought-out, and was very angry; both of them told me independently of each other what they thought about it, and while some parts of those conversations were not terribly pleasant for me, they did help me to clear some things up, both for me and for them. I hope I don’t have to do that again anytime soon, though.

Finally, I am grateful today for spicy food. I had some real spicy food tonight for the first time since getting to Texas (yeah, six months; some places just don’t live up to the hot sauce expectations). It took me about an hour to recover feeling in my tongue of anything except burning, and I could feel my sweat glands warming up, but it was a decent meal and I survived it intact. I don’t know that I’ll go that hot again, though, at least not without a training montage.

As for a positive experience from the last 24 hours, I think I will go with getting my hair cut. That sounds pretty pedestrian, but it has been a while since I’ve gotten a decent hair cut, and it got me out of my apartment for a bit, let me clean up my hair (which was frankly, getting kind of shaggy), and let me get a massaging shampoo, a nice, hot towel on my face, some time in a massaging chair….I was so relaxed there I almost fell asleep. It even caused my Restless Leg Syndrome to kick in. So yes, it was extremely normal, but I felt like I got something done, and it was really relaxing.

It was so relaxing that the massaging chair with the hot towel is where I did my breathing exercise for today. Yes, I’m doing this out of order, but what are you gonna do, sue me? It may have only been five minutes, but I wish it had been longer, because man, was I relaxed when I was done. As for exercise today, it is Tuesday, which meant some time in the pool; oddly, everyone cleared out of the pool just minutes after I got there, and people only came back as I was leaving. I wonder why that is – I mean, I don’t smell that bad. Right? (The answer you’re looking for is ‘no, Jamie, you smell like awesome!’, in case you were wondering.)

As for messages to people I am grateful to, I have two tonight – one for tonight, and one to catch up for last night. I am writing those as we speak, and while they won’t be flowery or Shakespearian, I think the meaning behind the message is what we’re going for here.

That’s the challenge for today, and done earlier than most nights! Let’s hear it for a productive night, eh? As we head into the last few days of the challenge, I’ll have to see if I can’t find some interesting things to be grateful for, just to shake things up a bit.

Leave a Reply

