Aftermath

As several readers have mentioned, I did not write a blog post yesterday. This is because yesterday was a pretty busy day, and I didn’t really have time to write a blog post, or the energy to write one after the day was over. Now, though, rested up after a fun and tiring birthday, I can give the after-action report.

After waking up and doing some apartment cleaning (with supplies I received as gifts from my family), I got a chance to talk to both my sister and my parents, which was nice. I also picked up a couple packages from the apartment complex leasing office, meaning that now I have both a vacuum cleaner and a crockpot. Truly, now I am a force to be reckoned with. I also grabbed a copy of my lease agreement, so I can go in to the DMV (or, as Texas calls it, the DPS) on Monday and try to get myself a Texas driver’s license. This seems like a lot of fuss over nothing, but seriously, it requires a lot of work and documentation – and if you don’t believe me, go see for yourself.

After that, I got to go out for coffee with a good friend of mine, and we brainstormed ideas about what to go do with another friend of mine who had asked to do something a bit later. With this second friend, I ended up going to see the Robert DeNiro movie The Family; it was a decent movie, though it seemed a little confused about whether to be a comedy with serious parts or a serious movie with comedic parts. Still, it was fun to see. Then I had about an hour to prepare for dinner.

Dinner ended up being at a place here in Houston called Samurai Japanese Steak & Sushi; it’s one of those places you go where they cook the food on the table in front of you, hibachi-style, and we went on my birthday, so it was extra amusing (there may be pictures forthcoming, but don’t hold me to it). It was five friends and I, and dinner was very good – I ate so much I could barely stand up afterwards. Then two friends and I came back to my place where we played Rock Band and sat around talking until it was no longer my birthday, at which point we all stumbled in the general direction of our beds.

Contrast this with my last birthday, which I don’t remember very clearly except for the fact that it was when I first decided that I would be trying to kill myself, a process that took several months but eventually culminated in an attempt on January 14th of this year. I’d say going from abject despair to having a great night with friends is a pretty big turnaround. So I want to thank my friends and family for making yesterday possible. Today I am 34, and while there are certainly times I wish I was younger, I don’t think there’s a better group of people I could be around. I hope all your birthdays are as good as mine.

3 comments on “Aftermath

  1. Janice F. says:

    AIEEEEE DMV! We had to get new licenses and register the car in VA; I took a whole stack of papers, Kyle, the kids, and two soccer balls. We were in and out in a record 30 minutes! I know this option is probably not open to you (borrow a couple annoying kids), but it was pretty funny. To me.

    • Happy Birthday, Jamie! and Janice – rotflol one of the BEST ideas *ever* – had I been there, it would have been funny to me, too. (Afterwards ::grin::)

      Jamie – I’m linking this article to my “I’m back” post as content related to my own birthday example.

      ~~~~~
      Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, CMC, SCAC, MCC
      – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
      (blogs: ADDandSoMuchMore, ADDerWorld & ethosconsultancynz – dot com)
      “It takes a village to educate a world!”

  2. […] Aftermath (theinnerlimits.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

