‘No wonder you fail at life!’ – 18. Comments that you should avoid when talking to a depressive Aka. Questions, questions, questions…

Universally Challenged

questionsThroughout all my experiences I would definitely say that the worst thing, even more than trying to find the bravery to talk in the first place, is dealing with how people react to my depression. When people respond incorrectly, either because of insensitivity or purely because they just don’t know how to react, it can make me feel extremely cut off and isolated. A few months ago while I was trying to talk to a friend about why my depression and anxiety were making me struggle in Uni, her response was ‘No wonder you fail at life!’. This comment was the absolute worst thing she could have said to me. It still haunts me now and resurfaces from the recesses of my mind when I am at my lowest.

So, here is a list of just some of the unhelpful questions that you should avoid asking about mental illness, specifically…

View original post 2,903 more words

One comment on “‘No wonder you fail at life!’ – 18. Comments that you should avoid when talking to a depressive Aka. Questions, questions, questions…

  1. […] ‘No wonder you fail at life!’ – 18. Comments that you should avoid when talking to… […]

Leave a Reply

