Part 4: Barry Trotter and the Goblet of Gratitude

So today has been a pretty good day for me. Not only did I get some good news on the job front, but it sounds like things are starting to look up for Calla. For those of you interested in how my life is going, I’ll get right to it.

First, I am grateful for my first interview. Starbucks gave me a time for an interview on Friday, and while it isn’t what I want to do for the rest of my life, it is something to give me a little more structure to my life, and so this is a promising step. I guess we’ll see how it goes come Friday. Secondly, I am grateful to Calla’s treatment team,. because they seem to be bringing her mood up, and that is something I always enjoy. Finally, I am grateful to my friends on Facebook, because they helped me to find some new places to apply for jobs, and while I don’t know if they will lead to anything, I appreciate the help.

As for a positive experience from the last 24 hours, I went to my regular DBSA group earlier tonight. While there I gave them an update on Calla, because she goes there as well, and they were concerned about her, and I also gave them an update on how I’m doing. While I don’t know the other people in my DBSA group well, I do feel comfortable talking to them about how I feel and how I am managing my depression, because I know they have similar problems and understand what is going on with a life with depression. It’s a nice setting, the people are friendly, the two facilitators are caring and helpful, and I almost always feel better after going.

As for exercise, I spent some time earlier using the Kinect for exercises; I am particularly fond of cardio boxing. I’m still sore from the previous night’s exercise, and I expect I will be sore again tomorrow, but I do feel better after working out. I didn’t meditate after exercising tonight, instead doing so just before my DBSA meeting. Not that I particularly felt the need for relaxation, but I had time before the meeting that I wasn’t using, and it felt like a good use of my time.

I don’t actually have a message ready for someone tonight; I’m actually planning on thinking that over tonight and sending it out early tomorrow, as well as working on my message for tomorrow. Hopefully I’ll be able to keep up.

In any case, I am happy to have a scheduled interview, a nice smoothie on hand, a good book to read before bed, and I feel good about how things are going right now. I don’t feel as good as I did two weeks ago, but I’m working towards it. It’s always nice to have things looking up.

3 comments on “Part 4: Barry Trotter and the Goblet of Gratitude

  1. Alicia says:

    Now out of curiosity how many of Jamie’s readers both know who Barry Trotter is and have read the books?

Leave a Reply

