Special Gratitude Two-Parter!

Since I didn’t update this yesterday (because I went to bed early to prepare for my interview today), I thought I would do a special two-parter tonight. It’s no ‘The Best of Both Worlds’, but it’s all I’ve got for tonight.

For things I am grateful for, I’ll just go for all six here. First, I am grateful for being able to visit Calla tomorrow. It’s been almost two weeks, and I miss getting to see her. Second, I am grateful to my sister for helping me make preparations for my interview earlier; I think they helped, and at the very least they helped keep me from freaking out. Third, I am grateful for internet recipes; they helped me make salmon quesadillas with honey wasabi sauce for dinner last night, and it was tasty. Fourth, I am grateful to all the friends and family who got in touch with me today about how my interview went. It was nice to see so many people cared about what was happening. For number five, I’m going shallow and being grateful for the Age of Ultron collected trade; I didn’t even remember this event had happened in Marvel comics, but I did enjoy reading through it. Finally, I am grateful to Staci Haines, whose work will hopefully be helpful to me in the future.

As for a positive experience, I think I’ll go with my interview today. I went in and met with the manager of the Starbuck’s that had set the interview up, and she was extremely friendly. We chatted for a while, talking about how I had come to Houston, what I had done beforehand, what previous work experience I had, that sort of thing. She asked me about a time in the past when I had had a difficult situation to deal with involving others, and how I had handled it, and I talked about the crazy times near the beginning of the school year at the Parking & Card Services office at SLU. I was there for three years, and while the busy days were predictable, that didn’t make them any easier. Sh asked why I wanted to work at Starbuck’s, and what I liked about Starbuck’s, and at the end told me that she would get in touch with my by Monday, and even if I didn’t get the job at that particular store, she would check around at other stores to see if they could use any help. I was kind of nervous, what with it being my first interview and all, and wearing a long-sleeved shirt in Texas before winter was a little unpleasant, but I think it went pretty well, and regardless of how it works out, I think I’ve got a little more confidence in my interview skills.

As for exercise, yesterday I used the Kinect for cardio boxing and then worked out with my kettlebells, while today I worked more on the Convict Conditioning exercises. That seems to be the routine I’m settling into, especially since the pool here is about to close. As usual, I found time for meditation in between exercises, so I didn’t tense up too much and pull anything. It seems to be a good routine for me.

As for messages to people I am grateful to, I think that there are a couple I will deliver in person tomorrow when I go see Calla, since some of the staff there are people I haven’t spoken to in a while and who I owe a fair bit. So, no e-mails, I’ll just tell them how much i appreciate all they did to help me in person.

Am I good? I’m good.

One comment on “Special Gratitude Two-Parter!

  1. Laurel says:

    You be good

Leave a Reply

