On the Books

It’s been a busy couple of days, so I’ll try to get all the salient details in. On Monday, I went to go see my psychiatrist, who lowered my dose of antidepressant back to its previous levels, which will hopefully help with my having been feeling more tired than normal for the last couple of weeks. Then I went out and picked up the relatively new Lego Marvel Superheroes Xbox game; it’s the first video game I’ve picked up in a while, and I felt like grabbing something new to play – and after seeing the new Thor movie, that seemed like a good bet.

The rest of my day yesterday was relatively sedate, which was good because I hit the sack early to get ready for my first day at work, which started Tuesday at 11 am. Now, we’re not allowed to talk about too much of what goes on as employees of Barnes & Noble (and, even mentioning that I’m an employee, the employee handbook notes that I should say that the postings on this site are my own and do not represent Barnes & Noble’s positions, strategies or opinions). But we (and by we, I mean one other new employee and I) spent all day, from 11 am to 7:30 pm learning the ropes as booksellers. 

It’s been a long time – since the end of 2011 – since I worked at a job, and even then I usually only worked for 5-6 hours at a time. So a full day was pretty tiring, not to mention a lot of information to absorb. But at the same time it was nice to have something scheduled for my day, something to keep me busy and kinda productive. So while I feel exhausted – and my back will almost certainly hurt later – I feel pretty good.

So, after a long day of work, and a relatively relaxing night afterwards, I hit the sack pretty early. Thus, I am also up exceedingly early, which is very odd for me, and hopefully something I will be correcting soon – I’ve only had about 6 hours of sleep, and I expect this burst of writing productivity will only last for a bit longer before my body realizes it hasn’t actually gotten its entire allotment of sleep.I’m not sure what I will be doing for the rest of Wednesday, but I do feel pretty good right now, so I hope things continue in this direction.

Leave a Reply

