New Age

So, the last few days have been pretty busy. I started work on Tuesday, doing training, and yesterday I spent some time cooking, cleaning, and reading – which doesn’t sound too busy, but then you didn’t see how tired I was after my first day at work.

Today, I went in to work to train on working the registers, and actually got a while to work on the register by myself for about an hour or so. Other than the back soreness created by standing up without moving around for a long time, it was a pretty decent day at work, and I think I actually did a relatively good job for my first time out.

After work, I got to grab some food and go visit Calla – we didn’t go to the cafeteria there, because I brought food from Sonic. I am, of course, the man (not meaning, of course, that I am the male in this friendship, though I suppose I am, but more along the lines of general awesomeness). She’s been having a rough couple of days, and so I was glad to get the chance to come see her.

Seeing her is the high point of my day every time I do it. I know that she isn’t in a great place mentally right now, but I still feel good just being around her. It must show, too – when I was talking to her earlier, she actually told me, and this is no joke, that I was ‘too optimistic’.

Yeah, I know, right? When you recover, just think how surprising I found that.

It’s been a life-altering 8-10 months, and I think that her statement, however joking it may have been, is a good indication of how far I’ve come. I went from basically being a deadbeat, suicidal, hopeless, lonely guy to a guy with his own apartment, living among friends, having a job, activities, and people around here who I care for and who care about me (I mean just the immediate area, I know there are other people who care about me).

So I may be, justifiably, more optimistic than I was a year ago. That’s pretty cool, now that I think about it. I hope that Calla can start in that direction, because I really like her. I think she deserves to be in a better place in life, where she feels at least kind of as amazing as I think she is.In the meantime, I’ll do what I can to be a support for her, and my other friends, and hope they’ll do the same for me. I think writing this blog has been really therapeutic, and a big help to me, and I hope it can continue to be so,

But, really, what kind of a funny face and/or noise did you make when you saw someone said I was ‘too optimistic’?

2 comments on “New Age

  1. Janice F. says:

    There might have been a teeny tiny bit of jaw-dropping at ‘too optimistic’. But hey! I say you embrace it, man!

Leave a Reply

