Holiday Workathon

Well, today at 7:30 PM marked the end of 5 days straight of working. It’s been a pretty exhausting set of days, but then it has been retail during the holidays. I invested in a ton of over-the-counter painkillers, several pairs of shoe inserts, and a back brace, but it’s really all been about pain management, not actually making it go away. It’s exhausting, both mentally and physically – having to be nice to people I don’t know, and who often aren’t terribly interested in being nice to me, is rough on an introvert.

Tomorrow, I fly to Florida, to spend some times with my parents, who I haven’t seen in several months, and with my grandparents, who I haven’t seen in a year. It’s a quick trip – leave tomorrow, come back Thursday, just in time to head right off to work again, hi ho. It should be a good trip, and hopefully it will show them just how far I’ve come since coming to Menninger back in February – man, has it really been almost ten months? Time flies. In any case, I plan to do as close to nothing as humanly possible, because my aching body has no interest in much else. 

I’ve been playing phone tag with Calla for the past few days; we seem to keep missing each other, which is really hard for me because I really miss talking to her. I keep hearing that she’s doing well from another friend of hers, but second-hand info just doesn’t feel like enough. Calla is important to me, and I care about her; I like hearing from her. Good news is good news, of course, but I’d prefer to hear it from her. As the prophet Jagger has said, though, you can’t always get what you want – but sometimes, you get what you need. I don’t know what it is I need, which is, of course, confusing, but I’m hoping I figure it out.

S, to recap – work exhausting, family visit impending, Christmas good, Calla confusing.Life is strange, but good. I hope to have another update for y’all tomorrow or Wednesday, but if not, Merry Christmahanakwanzudan!

Leave a Reply

