New Year, New Beginning

So, it’s now 2014. It’s been almost a year – 13 days away, in fact – since I tried to kill myself. That, in turn, led to my coming to Menninger, then to a step-down, and now to my apartment, my job, and my friends in Houston. Though about a year ago was about the lowest point in my life, I’m now doing better than I can remember, and  a lot of things have helped to bring me here. My friends, my family, my therapist, my social worker, my fellow patients, my acceptance of treatment; all these things have helped to bring me to where I am today.

I have to say that I am grateful to everyone and everything who helped to lead me to where I am today. Without all of them, I wouldn’t be in the place – the much better place – that my life is in. Normally, my medication keeps me from being overly emotional, because that can be messy, but I’m tearing up right now. My being alive – my being free, and my being here – are, all or in part, thanks to you. I owe you all so much, and it means so much to me.

So, here’s to you, 2014. May it bring even more and better moments. And to all those who care about me, and who I care about – and to those who can’t be with us anymore – may things go as well for you as they are for me.

2 comments on “New Year, New Beginning

  1. AV says:

    Woo! Happy New Year, Jamie. There is goodness to be had ahead, and friends and family at your side!

  2. jen says:

    Happy new year Jamie!!

Leave a Reply

