Hunt for Red Jobtober

Life just keeps on keeping on. I’m a little late tonight because I got an unexpected shift at work today, but things are going pretty well. I go to work, I live my life, and I don’t really have any complaints.

Well, maybe one. I’m looking into the wider job world – sadly, minimum wage 24 hours a week just doesn’t cut it – and it seems hard to find anything that I qualify for. Now, I know I have a pretty shaky job history; this current job and a part-time job at my school during grad school are the only two jobs I’ve had since undergrad. But even the most basic of jobs that aren’t minimum wage require experience. How do you get experience when even the lowest level jobs require it?

I’ve applied to a lot of jobs; temp agencies, private schools, community colleges, regular colleges, stores, larger companies,and more besides. I know that my degree – a Master’s in English – is not the most useful for being an attractive employment prospect. But I don’t really know where else to look into. My skillset isn’t the widest; I can write well, communicate well, probably teach to some degree, operate a cash register, work a computer, provide customer service, and probably a few other things, but I just don’t know where that fits, or where that leaves me. It’s very frustrating, because I know I need to do more, but I am stuck at what to do.

2 comments on “Hunt for Red Jobtober

  1. Alicia says:

    yep in this world you almost have to know someone to get a start because everywhere requires experience first…..only possible idea get a job at a temp agency…..that should give you experience at a wider number of jobs.

  2. Laurel says:

    You have a linked in profile right? That’s how a lot of recruiters in my field find me. But also you probably already know that having a functional resume might help you because it shows skills and downplays number of jobs and job gaps

Leave a Reply

