Good News

Well, I have to say that today has been a pretty good day today. I got a good night’s sleep, and then I got a call from Calla, who seems to be doing really well. She sounded upbeat, happy even, though it sounds like such an unfamiliar feeling for her that she’s not really sure how to deal with it. I can understand that; when I was at Menninger, and just starting to realize that things got better, I wasn’t really sure what to do with feelings that weren’t depression or anger, either. Calla was actually one of the people – possibly the most important one – who helped me learn how to deal with those feelings.

She told stories about playing volleyball in the snow and going to Zumba class for the first time, and about how her mother was coming to visit next week, and amidst all of it, she sounded good. Really good. It makes me feel really hopeful. I don’t want to future-trip, though, and make plans for a future I can’t be sure will happen the way I want it to, so I’ll try to keep any hopes for her getting out to myself.

Then I got to go to the gym with a friend, which was good; it kept me from getting too lazy today. Then I corrected a cover letter for my sister, and she gave me some handy information on possibly getting a job in the social work area, maybe in some sort of mental health advocacy job. Then I got to kick back, relax, watch some TV, and just enjoy the simple pleasures of life. So it’s been a good day, and I always enjoy when that happens.

To be honest, I’m still a little giddy after hearing from Calla, and she said she might get back in touch again tomorrow, so I’m looking forward to that.

Leave a Reply

