Gratitude Challenge, Days 9 & 10

Once again, I’m posting in a 2-day bundle. I’ll tell you the truth, the last day or two have made it really hard to stick with this challenge, because it’s hard to see things to feel grateful for when one of my closest friends is leaving, even if it is the best thing for her to do. But I’ll give it a try and see what I can do here.

First, I’m grateful for the time I’ve been able to spend with my friend here. I know she’ll still be a part of my life, just in a long-distance way, but her being my friend has been really important to me. Second, frozen yogurt, which is one of the things we’ve gone to get a lot together. All kinds of wacky flavors, and some modicum of nutritional value, too. 3, the new Netflix show Bloodline; it’s not my typical viewing fare, but it’s really engrossing. 4, a video game I backed on Kickstarter called Pillars of Eternity just came out, so that’s gonna give me something to try to occupy my next couple days. Five, my support network, friends and family, because they’ve been a huge help to me in my recovery and managing my depression, and hopefully that will continue. Six, my ability to write, because keeping this blog going has helped to keep me sane and keep my thoughts organized and coherent.

The last two days, work has been more intense than normal, though I’m not sure if that is reality or just my perception; maybe I’ve just been pushing myself harder than normal so I wouldn’t have to pay as much attention to what else is happening, or maybe there’s some other reason I feel so much more sore than normal. Regardless, that’s been my exercise the past couple days, and I’ve had to try to meditate even more than normal to try and keep my back from starting an open revolt.

As for a positive experience that has happened in the last twenty-four hours, I don’t really know. Things have been so hectic lately that it’s been hard finding any time to myself other than when I am either just going to bed or just waking up. As an introvert, that tends to just make me feel drained of energy, and that just means I’m tired all the time, irritable, not as quick on the uptake, and probably seem less sociable than normal. It’s hard to keep up, and even though I’m trying to spend as much time as I can with my friend before I leave, it feels like I may be pushing things too hard just to try to get as much out of it as I can before she leaves. But I know that she’s going to a place she really wants to be, someplace I think she probably belongs, and I have faith that when she gets there, even as anxious as she is about leaving and making the trip, that she’ll find her way to doing what she wants to do. So it’s not really a positive experience, but it is a positive thought for my friend, and as sad as I am to see her go, I think that she’ll be doing much better back where she feels she belongs. I look forward to hearing about her success.

I’m just about caught up on messages of gratitude, but the next couple days are probably going to be a mess, so I don’t know how that will go. But I’ll try to keep as current as I can, and see where that gets me.

Leave a Reply

